Monday, June 26, 2017

Our Wisconsin Revolution Steps Forward

[from Mark N.]
Photo by Allison Vandenberg-Daves

On June 24 and 25 about 200 people from all corners of Wisconsin met in Stevens Point for the first convening of Our Wisconsin Revolution (OWR). By-laws were voted upon and ratified. Seven at large board of directors were elected to office (see below.)
An OWR (short) platform for political engagement was accepted:
+ Real Democracy
+ Economy that Works for All
+ Quality Public Goods and Services for All
+ Fair Taxes

Delegates discussed strategy and enlarged upon plans for growth in the eight Wisconsin congressional districts. If you were to ask us for an elevator speech for what I learned about what OWR represents for the future of Wisconsin political life it is this:
We Believe in the Goodness of Governance
Of the People, By the People and For the People

Part of La Crosse delegation (by Allison Vandenberg-Daves)

For too long a campaign has been waged to undermine confidence in the service of our government. Remember the 1981 catch phrase announced by President Reagan, "Government is not the solution, government is the problem." That was the shot that echoed across our land of a battle, now sustained for 35 years, to vilify the idea of governmental service for the benefit of all.
OWR believes that our elected and appointed public servants are benefactors to our community. OWR believes that government is a common good that we all share. OWR works to develop governance of the people, by the people and for the people.
Come join us.Together we will sustain confidence in our community's ability to govern ourselves for the good of us all. Start by attending Tuesday's Meet Your City Government event, a conversation between public servants and that public they serve (free and open to all) at 7:30 p.m. at the Myrick Park Center.

from OWR]
Congratulations to our newly elected At-Large Board members: Terrance Warthen (Interim Co-Chair), Sarah Lloyd (Interim Co-Chair), Rahul Mahajan, Joel Rogers, Alicia Leinberger, Jaime Alvarado, and Marina Dimitrijevic. We look forward to working with you and adding CD Reps from each Congressional District across the state.

No comments: